Here’s how O&O AutoBackup works

The copy process always begins automatically after you’ve connected a hotplug capable disk to the computer. Using the status bar icon and status window in the program, you can see when the process is completed and remove the disk. *

All the settings you need can be found under Default settings.

  1. Click Browse to select a file or folder as source for the copy. Alternatively, you can click the Add button and enter a source path or wildcard (such as .jpg) for certain file types by hand.
  2. You can now select which action O&O AutoBackup should execute.
    2.1”Copy all the source data in a directory on the destination drive.”
    All the selected files/folders will be copied. The folder will be named after the date using a “year, month, day” format.
    2.2 “Copy all modified and new source data, no deletion of data”
    Files currently on the destination drive will not be recopied if they were not changed in the source. Only modified and new files/folders will be copied onto the destination drive. As opposed to point 2.3, no data will be deleted on the destination drive.
    2.3 “Perform synchronization, i.e., apply all changes and file deletions.”
    All files and folders in the source will be copied onto the external disk. As opposed to point 2.2, files/folders that were deleted on the source will also be deleted on the destination drive. Once the action is completed, the destination drive is essentially a mirror image of the source data/folder(s).
  3. Now select the destination drive which is simultaneously also the start event. O&O AutoBackup supports all disks labeled as”hotplug capable”, meaning those disks that can be exchanged while the computer’s running. If the storage medium was already connected before O&O AutoBackup was started, you’ll be able to select it from the list of available destination disks. Otherwise, connect it now, click Refresh and select it from the list.
  4. Save your settings.
  5. If you want to run the copy on your stick or disk immediately, click Run’. Otherwise, the action selected will be executed whenever you connect your destination disk to your computer.

Under Advanced settings, you can define batch commands that can be run instead of default actions on the destination disk after it’s connected. It’s also possible to modify the structure of the directory for saving data/folders on the destination drive. The option “Use subfolder“” will let you specify a separate folder name. With the option “Attach the computer name in the path“, the name of the computer will be added to the path on the destination drive where the files/folders will be saved.

* Once the copying process is completed, please don’t forget to use your operating system’s “Safely remove hardware” method before disconnecting the external disk.

With O&O AutoBackup you can backup your files and directories quickly and automatically. If you want to backup your entire computer – whether privately or in a company – then we recommend O&O DiskImage, our comprehensive backup & recovery solution. Find out more about O&O DiskImage.